Book Review: The Sisters’ Grimoire: Prequel Novella (The Sisters’ Grimoire Trilogy), by Suza Kates

The Sisters Grimoire

Summary from Amazon.com

“Tate Whiteburn has come home to Bar Harbor, Maine, but what should have been a short trip takes an unexpected turn. The Victorian house near the cliffs holds much more than painful memories, and when lightning strikes midnight, family secrets unfold. She and her sisters have no choice but to work together, as they find strength they never knew they had . . . and face danger from a place they never knew existed.”

Review

When you think of Witches what comes to mind? Salem witch trials? Movies like Hocus Pocus, The Craft or even Practical Magic? Or do you think of characters in books similar to the All Souls Trilogy by Deborah Harkness or even The Crucible.  When I think of Witches I think of Ancient covens popping up all over the old world – for those unaware this includes all of Europe – during ancient times when the craft was passed from Mother to Daughter and through the matriarchal lines of the family used to celebrate the changing of the season, the Sabbats and the monthly full moon – its these traditions that have been the history written within many a novel.

And the Sister’s Grimoire is no exception, only this time the magick is passed through the family line via Celtic and Romanian ancient traditions – the sisters, Tate, Fiona, and Samantha have lived their lives unaware of the deep dark magical history of their family and on the night of Fee’s 21st Birthday they are enlightened to that history when a strange visitor arrives to tell them they have 3-Days to right a wrong they had no part in setting – a Mother they thought long dead had set this in motion when Fee was just an infant…and only when they embrace and learn to control their Magick can they even begin to think about righting this wrong.

I found this novella to be very intriguing, as one who embraces the magical side of life I enjoyed seeing the history, tools, and especially the use of Magick to be very well written.  I admit the story got off to a little bit of a slow start, but once I got through the first chapter I knew I was onto something special and that the author was going to spin a tale that meshes the modern era with the stories of the past all the while keeping to the traditions as written in this family’s Grimoire – or rather the family’s Book of Shadows – I very much enjoyed this book and managed to read it in its entirety in one sitting – something that happens quite rarely for me these days.

Five out of Five Stars for The Sisters Grimoire

**I received a copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review**

Purchase your copy of this book NOW through these sites

Amazon.com LogoiTunesLogoKoboLogoBN Logo

About the Author, Suza Kates

suza2012

I can’t remember a time when I didn’t love books, but two particular memories stay with me. As a young girl I picked up Little Women, read it straight through, and promptly turned to page one to start all over again. The next book I did that with was Mind Hunter by John Douglas, tales about profiling serial killers.

Thus a twisted romantic was born.

Throughout my teenage and young adult years, I read everything from horror to historical romance, yet I never, ever thought of trying to write anything of my own. Write a whole book? Crazy talk.

Then I spent a long, cold winter in a tiny apartment in Germany. My bed was also my living room couch, and I shared it with three cats. After tearing through all the books I had that were written in English, I picked up a pen and opened a door to something I would never have expected to love.

Missing the warmth, the hospitality, and the food of the South, I wrote about those things with a huge dose of family thrown in. I still have a sweet spot in my heart for Southern Moon, but to date, I have not revisited it for submission to my publisher. Time will tell.

As a huge fan of Dan Brown and Nora Roberts, I set off to write a romantic suspense with tons of history-laden backdrops. The She Trilogy is still a work in progress, but only because it was bumped aside by a bunch of sassy witches.

I had an idea about sisters and magic and went to work on the first book of The Savannah Coven Series, Whisper of a Witch. The series is still going strong, and I am grateful every day that I took a chance on paranormal romance, a genre I wasn’t very familiar with and had never actually read before writing it. Now I’m a parajunkie.

I have since joined RWA, and I can’t say enough about this organization. The education and support are unparalleled. I want to say thank you to all of my fellow writers who have offered advice and to my fans who come back for more.

Readers rule!

Connect with Suza

Her Website

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

Leave a Reply

