Book Review: Belles of the Ballpark: Revisiting the All-American Girls Professional Baseball League by Diana Star Helmer

The Belles of the Ballpark

Summary from Amazon.com

“An illustrated account of the women’s professional baseball league traces the history of the sport from its founding in 1943 to its end in 1954 and includes interviews with former players and an analysis of the league’s impact.”

I am first going to leave this here:

I love the above movie, and ironically enough as I am writing this review its on my TV right now, my 10 yr old daughter picked it out of the 400+ movies in our collection to watch this movie!

When I received an email from the publisher requesting I read and review this book I was intrigued – I’ve always harbored a fascination with the All American Girls Professional Baseball League, ever since I first saw this movie in the theaters back in 1992.  It wasn’t until I had ready access to the internet in 1997 was I able to do more extensive research into the history of the league – time and time again I’d go back and read something, pull something up, learn more, etc. etc. etc., and never once was it ever in an organized fashion – unlike me the author of Belles of the Ballpark, took years of research, news clippings, stories with the players and others associated with the league and assembled them into a comprehensive summary history of the league from start to finish even touching on how the movie has affected the fanbase – which by the way – has jumped significantly since the movie was released!  I found the book to be an easy read, while somewhat disorganized in terms of bouncing around back and forth from thought to thought, the overall picture was there and as a fan I was able to immerse myself into the history of this amazing league!

All in all I am going to give this short novel a 4 out of 5 stars!

In recent days in preparation to write this review I went to YouTube and pulled some old videos and documentaries on the league, thought I’d share some of those here too

AAGPBL Logo

Here are some links to Websites for the League

Diamond Girls – Official Website of the AAGPBL

Baseball Hall of Fame

And the Leagues Display at the H.O.F.

Official AAGPBL Facebook Page

Obtain Your Copy of this Book

Amazon.com                                Barnes & Nobles                          Books-A-Million

About the Author, Diana Star Helmer

Diana Star Helmer has studied the role of women in sports since her days as playground tetherball champ. She has authored more than 40 books, many of which are about baseball. Tom Owens is also author of more than 40 books. He writes the blog Baseball By The Letters. He and Diana are married and live in Iowa.

Connect with Diana via Goodreads

Leave a Reply

