Friday Inspiration, on a Sunday: Quotes from Robin Williams

It’s taken me quite a bit to be able to write this post – like millions of Americans I was awestruck and struck down when I’d heard about Robin Williams’ death and then hit again when it was discovered he’d committed suicide.  I’ve not been shy about stating the fact that I fight Depression/Anxiety myself and as it turns out this amazing actor and philanthropist did as well.  

For some the battle wages internally until a literal nuclear bomb explodes and of that population only a handful have the love and support of those around them enough to get the help they so desperately need! Despite them continually denying that they need it, or they’ll say something like “I’m fine” or they’Il take their meds for awhile thinking they’ve been cured only to sink back into that depressive state.

In an even smaller population of those who do implode that implosion is a private one – one they don’t talk about – one they don’t ask for help for – not because they don’t want it, but because t floats on their conscious as something they know they need, mentally they know they need the help but they cannot verbalize that help for one reason or another.  Sadly this implosion is one that ultimately ends in either a suicide or the person becomes homeless, finds themselves addicted to something be it drugs, alcohol, or other not so healthy behaviors because they are unable to seek the help they need – but because their depression internalizes it and they don’t feel emotionally ready enough to ask for help.  It’s a deep dark cycle that is a private one and one that if you have never fought this battle is one you will never understand.

On this note, I’d like to share some quotes I found from Mr. Williams with all of you, please enjoy!

R Williams 1

 

“No Matter What People Tell You, Words and Ideals Can Change the World”

Good Morning Vietnam

 

“You Will Have Bad Times, But They Will Always Wake You Up To the Stuff You Weren’t Paying Attention To”

Flubber

 

“A nuclear bomb is a man’s way of saving ‘I’m gonna fuck up the earth’ A woman would never make a nuclear bomb.  They would never make a weapon that kills.  They’d make a weapon that makes you feel bad for awhile…That’s why there should be a woman President, there would never be any wars.  You know this, its the truth.  There would never be a war; just every twenty-eight days some severe negotiations”

Patch Adams

 

“Death is Nature’s Way of Saying Your Table is Ready”

Robin-Williams.-006

 

“I believe in destiny. There must be a reason that I am as I am.  There Must Be”

Robin Williams, 1951 – 2014

You Sir, Will be Missed.  I pray that your soul has found the peace it so longed for.

Blessings to you and to your family

Images borrowed from:
http://www.ninerfans.com
http://www.lasportsanostra.com
http://www.hdwallpapersmart.com
http://www.blog.cremationsolutions.com
http://www.theguardian.com
3 thoughts on “Friday Inspiration, on a Sunday: Quotes from Robin Williams

    • Agreed – It’s hard to get help when they can’t even ask for it – I think that’s what a lot of the debate has been and some of the cruel words…honestly when I was at my lowest I knew I needed help but just couldn’t bring myself to ask for help – my husband and my Mom tried but I had to want it for myself – eventually I was able to ask for the help I needed but its hard.

  1. Pingback: NCReaderGirl 2014 In Review My Way! | ncreadergirl

Leave a Reply

