Book Review: Imitation, Heather Hildenbrand

Imitation Cover

Imitation, Heather Hildenbrand

Summary from Amazon.com

“Everyone is exactly like me. There is no one like me. 

Ven wrestles with these contradicting truths every day. A clone of wealthy eighteen-year-old Raven Rogen, Ven knows everything about the girl she was created to serve: the clothes she wears, the boys she loves, the friends she loves to hate. Yet she’s never met the Authentic Raven face-to-face. Imitations like Ven only get to leave the lab when they’re needed—to replace a dead Authentic, donate an organ, or complete a specific mission. And Raven has never needed Ven . . . until now.

When there is an attack on Raven’s life, Ven is thrust into the real world, posing as Raven to draw out the people who tried to harm her. But as Ven dives deeper into Raven’s world, she begins to question everything she was ever told. She exists for Raven, but is she prepared to sacrifice herself for a girl she’s never met?”

I think we all wish there was another version of us somewhere out there that would just step into our lives when we needed a break – then again how realistic is something like that actually happening?  That there is an exact DNA replica of each of us being produced, raised, trained, and prepared to step into our life when we need them most.  More specifically should something cynical and evil be happening to our lives?  Say a thread to our very existence, would probably ring more true to someone who is high profile, like an heiress, ranking politician, or how about even the President of the United States.  Never mind, the lowly middle to lower class people like myself who truly do not have a “need” for such thing, but in reality need it more than for security purposes.

This is just the fourth Dystopian novel I’ve read, having already read Suzanne Collins’ Hunger Games series, and a short story in L. Ron Hubbards’ Writers of the Future, Vol. 30 I do not have much basis for comparison, however Imitation reads a lot like Stephanie Meyers’ The Host in that there’s a triangle of people hiding a secret, with the main person centered within that secret is fighting an internal battle of right vs. wrong – does she out her “creator/father” and try to free other imitation ‘Products’ along with the rebellion gang? Or does she continue to live the life of Raven and try to find out who is behind the attacks on her life so that she can fulfill her mission?  Ven is confused and fighting this battle all the while exploring a budding romance with one of Raven’s body guards and holding off her would be fiancé.  Can she do it? Will she choose to help her father/creator? Or choose to help the others like her?

I found Imitation both intriguing and disturbing all at the same time – the author is asking the reader to step outside their known comfort zone and place themselves into the world of an imitation product clone trying to discover just what exactly their purpose is.  I honestly would have loved to have more back story, I would have liked to have read more about where the real Raven was and what she was thinking (albeit it probably was shallow at best) and to find out more from Raven’s Father’s perspective.  There just seemed to be some bulk to the story that was missing, some back story we just didn’t see and know about.  This book was an easy ready that kept me intrigued from the moment I opened it until I finished it just hours later, but left me with more questions than answers.

Three out of Five Stars for Imitation

**I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review**

Add to Goodreads 

Purchase Your Copy From:

Amazon.com

Heather Hildenbrand

About the Author:

Author of Across the Galaxy, Whisper, and the Dirty Blood series. I write, read, and fuss at my kids. Oh, and I do laundry, lots of laundry. I’m pretty good at it, too. Sometimes I even read WHILE doing laundry – and fussing at my kids. I’m a multi-tasker. 

For more information on my books, release dates, or just general stalker material, um, I mean FAN material, visit my website. www.heatherhildenbrand.blogspot.com. I love hearing from readers! 

Likes and dislikes? I love vintage tees, hate socks with sandals, and if my house was on fire the one thing I’d grab is my Amazon Fire TV! (oh yeah, I’m a fan of puns.)

Website / Facebook / Twitter

Website:  www.heatherhildenbrand.blogspot.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HeatherHildenbrandsFanPage

Twitter: https://twitter.com/HeatherHildenbr

One thought on “Book Review: Imitation, Heather Hildenbrand

  1. Pingback: ATTN: Bloggers, Big News from the Heather Hildenbrand Camp! | ncreadergirl

Leave a Reply

