Book Review: Love and the Goddess, Mary Elizabeth Coen

Love and the Goddess Book Cover

Love and the Goddess, Mary Elizabeth Coen

Summary from Amazon.com

‘Sex and the City’ meets ‘Eat, Pray, Love’ in a search for love & meaning.

Love & the Goddess

One woman, One myth, Three Goddesses            

A woman’s voyage of self-discovery begins on the internet leading all the way to Brazil and onto the Andean highlands of Peru.

Devastated from her relationship break- up, Kate Canavan is
at a loss until she re-discovers a hidden painting of the triple Goddess from Greek mythology. Her interest in mythology and spirituality is re-ignited. A voyage of self-discovery begins with internet dating using the names of each of the Goddesses in the triple myth.

When a health scare intervenes Kate and her friends go together to visit a famous healer in Brazil and a spiritual guru in Peru, where all three friends begin spiritual journeys of forgiveness, gratitude and learning to live in the now.

Read it to find out if Kate finds love along the way.”

A break-up has a funny way of turning anyone’s life on its head, while I personally haven’t seen the inside of my marriage breaking up, I have had relationships come and go in the past and there was only one that totally wrecked me – or at least I thought it did at the time – my own world was flipped on its head and every plan I had in place was cancelled and I was forced to re-think my life and what I was going to do.  All in the span of my senior year of college, if not for the wonderful friends and family I had at the time I would probably have sunk into a deeper depression and not surfaced.  While back then I was not as familiar with the idea of Finding my Inner Goddess and seeking comfort with other entities other than the Christian God and Jesus I was raised to believe it. It was not until much later in life that I re-discovered the stories of the past, stories I had long since forgotten.

The theme throughout Love and the Goddess is the imagery of the Triple Goddess, Maiden-Mother-Crone, is something that resonates with me as a woman for the simple fact that I have seen myself as the maiden, and now I am living as the Mother and while the Crone is not just the elder version of ourselves, she is also the vision of wisdom and knowledge that comes from discovering our inner selves.  Kate Canavan takes a wickedly twisted path to find her inner Goddess, but she does through a journey that takes her all over the world.  She crosses oceans to climb the mountains of South America meditating in some of the most spiritual places at the top of the world.  All of this is done at the behest of her friend James, someone who only has her best interest at heart, he knows that she needs to seek this path because she needs to unlearn some of what she was taught as a child/young adult (maiden) in order to be a better person/mother/girlfriend/significant other (mother), and along the way she learns that its ok to question everything she knows in order to find that inner peace and wisdom she longs to let out (crone).

Personally, I loved this book once I got into it, took the usual first five or six chapters for the story and characters to be outlined, but I adored it once I got into it for the simple fact that the story is engaging, amusing, and enticing.  It takes the reader down the path of questioning themselves while going on that journey with Kate.  We go from the ultra-modern world of present-day Gallway to the Peruvian jungle where time seems to stand still in the post-industrial revolution era.  With Kate we begin to question our lives and maybe re-think some of what we know.  Highly recommend to anyone who enjoyed Eat, Pray, Love and maybe even “Sex and the City”

Five out of Five Stars

**I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review**  
 

Get Your Copy of Love and the Goddess

Buy it NOW from Amazon.com

Visit the Author through these Websites:

Goddess Meca – Author Website

Author’s Amazon Website: Mary Elizabeth Coen

Twitter: Goddess Meca

and on Facebook, Goddess Meca

Leave a Reply

