Friday Inspiration – Some Quotes from my Favorite Books

Today I thought I’d do something just a tad different – instead of pulling themed quotes from the web – I thought I’d pull some quotes from some of my Favorite Books!  So please site back and enjoy!

BDD Logo

First the Black Dagger Brotherhood Series by J.R. Ward – if you’ve read these books you’ll know there’s literally thousands of wonderful one-liners those boys throw out at each other, so I am going to try my hardest to narrow it down to just a few!

“The guy stroked his goatee. “What do you call twenty guys watching the World Series?” “The New York Yankees,” Butch replied. The vampire laughed in a loud burst, whipped the baseball cap off his head, and slapped it on his thigh.” 

Dark Lover, J.R. Ward

“Fuckin’ A… hope didn’t so much spring eternal as it drowned out common sense and self-preservation.” 

Lover Eternal, J.R. Ward

“I was living with this sense that there was something going on, something important, but I didn’t know what it was. It was like…I knew the secret was there, and it was a dark one, but I just couldn’t reach it. Nearly drove me mad.” 

Lover Avenged, J.R. Ward

WWOHP

Another favorite series of mine, like so many others is the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling – there’s several funny scenes, those that will keep you on the edge of your seat, and those that will pull you into the Wizarding World – I’ve chosen two quotes from my two favorite books of the entire series.

“Have you ever seen anything quite as pathetic?” said Malfoy. “And he’s supposed to be our teacher!”
Harry and Ron both made furious moves toward Malfoy, but Hermione got there first – SMACK!
She had slapped Malfoy across the face with all the strength she could muster. Malfoy staggered. Harry, Ron, Crabbe, and Goyle stood flabbergasted as Hermione raised her hand again.
“Don’t you dare call Hagrid pathetic you foul—you evil—”
“Hermione!” said Ron weakly and he tried to grab her hand as she swung it back.
“Get off Ron!”
Hermione pulled out her wand. Malfoy stepped backward. Crabbe and Goyle looked at him for instructions, thoroughly bewildered.
“C’mon,” Malfoy muttered, and in a moment, all three of them had disappeared into the passageway to the dungeons.
“Hermione!” Ron said again, sounding both stunned and impressed.” 
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, J.K. Rowling

“How do you feel, Georgie?” whispered Mrs. Weasley.
George’s fingers groped for the side of his head.
“Saintlike,” he murmured.
“What’s wrong with him?” croaked Fred, looking terrified. “Is his mind affected?”
“Saintlike,” repeated George, opening his eyes and looking up at his brother. “You see…I’m HOLEY, Fred, geddit?” 
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows, J.K. Rowling

Hamlet Cover

In high school we read the play Hamlet by Shakespeare and it touched me to my very core – I still remember reading it to this day! Below is one of the most beautiful quotes from the whole play.

“To die, to sleep – 
To sleep, perchance to dream – ay, there’s the rub,
For in this sleep of death what dreams may come…” 

Hamlet, William Shakespeare

The Crucible Book Cover

For some reason unknown to me this book has stayed with me to this day – having lead me to the very town of Salem, MA twice now – a vibrant coastal town with a deep history, The Crucible is littered with stereotypes of the time and has a resonating history with each and every one of us.

“We cannot look to superstition in this. The Devil is precise. The marks of his presence are definite as stone, and I must tell you all that I shall not proceed unless you are prepared to believe me if I should find no bruise of hell upon her.”

The Crucible, Arthur Miller

The Great Gatsby

This book I read twice, once as a senior in high school and then again as a freshman in college – both teacher’s taking a very different stance on the novel and the social importance of what plot – I have yet to re-read it as adult – nor do I have any wish to watch the movie that recently came out but The Great Gatsby still sits in my mind as the one classic that will always remain.

“In my younger and more vulnerable years my father gave me some advice that I’ve been turning over in my mind ever since.
“Whenever you feel like criticizing any one,” he told me, “just remember that all the people in this world haven’t had the advantages that you’ve had.” 

The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald

I hope you have enjoyed this trip through some of my absolute favorite novels/plays! We’ll do this again sometime in the future!

Images borrowed from:

http://www.jrward.com

http://www.collider.com

http://www.michaelpjensen.com

http://www.artandcritique.com

http://www.en.wikipedia.org

Leave a Reply

