Inspiration for a Friday!

As of late it seems all I am posting here is book reviews, which honestly isn’t a bad thing, but the purpose behind this blog was to track my move from Professional Administrator to doing something in the Publishing world, and as it would seem that has gone to the wayside due to my very unstable financial situation, I am going to keep trecking!

To me it seems contradictory to keep moving on a path that’s not going to lead where I ultimately want to go – so what am I doing?  Well as of today, 11.01.13, I am working up a write-up essay on the Future of Print Books in a Digital World for the website Writers Cash (found it from ask.com) in hopes of landing some form of freelance writing assignments as I really need to generate more income, and that seems like the best path for me to take for now.

So today instead of dragging everyone down with a post about how I am not doing this or that, I instead have found some inspirational quotes from Comedians that I thought I’d share.  But first I want to share this video, I love the song and it speaks to the quotes I am sharing today:

And now the quotes:

“Don’t become something just because someone else wants you to, or because it’s easy; you won’t be happy.  You have to do what you really, really, really, really want to do, even if it scares the shit out of you” Kristen Wiig

“In order to success your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure” Bill Cosby

“You can’t be that kid standing at the top of the waterslide overthinking it.  You have to go down the chute” Tina Fey

“I honestly think it is better to be a failure at something you love than to be a success at something you hate” George Burns

How many of these speak to you? And why?

8 thoughts on “Inspiration for a Friday!

  1. I couldn’t nanowrimo this year because I lacked the courage for commitment. I am still one who knows the best way is to just go down the water chute 🙂 Good to see you. We have missed you. The paperback will be out soon. It has been a really long year. I think there will always be a place for print books, even as audios are selling better these days. Not everybody wants to own a reader. Especially in my age group…at least not yet. “ARK BOOKS” my silly little imprint logo for my paperback books is my attempt at rescuing print books from the flood, the waves of eversion that are swamping the hand held book. I still own every hardcopy edition of Anne Rice and, while I love my reader, am not about to give up on collecting.

    • That seems to the collective thoughts on that topic – that while e-Books are gaining popularity with the younger crowd, there are still some, like myself & my hubby, who prefer the hand held versions of books. I have a Kindle, but have a collection of books by JR Ward that I will only keep in hardcover/paperback because they are a collection and belong together as a collection. I don’t think that print books will go away entirely, but like I read in one article they’ll become collectors items and something a reader holds as a precious commodity item they treasure. Sort of reminds me of Mo from Inkeart in a way!

      • I know ebook readers are a status symbol for youth, but my daughter refuses, preferring the handheld, so the young audience has not completely faded away either (she is very anti-status).

      • LOL! My kids are getting Kindles for Christmas from their Grandparents, it’ll be interesting to see how that plays out…glad to hear she’s still going with the “old school” books as some kids would refer to them.

Leave a Reply

