Inspiration

Inspiration

Comes in Many Forms

From Everywhere, From Anyone

It Can Be Big, It Can Be Small

It Could be a Quote, A Piece of Literature, or Even a Person

Any number of things – name a noun, and wham you have inspiration!

I think for me it comes from many sources, example: my photography – inspiration comes from the people and places around me.  My choice of reading material is basic, simple – a curious book cover, a thought provoking review, or even a referral from a friend.  Sometimes it is the movie a book is based on, or the very persona  movie is about, reading topics for me are a limitless world of possibilities.

Below I want to share my all-time favorites – these are books or authors that caught my attention in some capacity:

Scott O’Dell, Island of the Blue Dolphins

Laura Ingalls Wilder, Little House on the Prairie Series

F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby

William Shakespeare, Hamlet

Antoine de Saint-Exupery, The Little Prince en Francais

E.B. White, Charlotte’s Web

Zora Neale Hurston, Their Eyes Were Watching God

L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables Series

And many many others to large a number to list off the top of my head.  While I enjoy these classics listed above, there are some more modern authors I enjoy as well:

Nora Roberts

James Patterson

J.R. Ward

Charlaine Harris

Deborah Harkness

I’d be lying if I didn’t also mention Stephanie Mayer – yes I am a Twilight Geek – books only though…the topic of the movies is another post for another day!

Some are lesser known books:

Paula Brackston, The Witches Daughter

Neil Abramson Unsaid

All of the above have one very obvious thing in common – they are pages bound together – a little object called a Book.

My love for reading was born when a teacher, my 8th grade English teacher handed me The Hobbit – due to my lack of interest it took me somewhere around a month to read that book – she later told me that it was not likely I’d read another book or be able to read more than one in a month’s time – well little known to her later that summer my Mom would hand me my first Danielle Steele novel and during that summer I read 8 more books and continued to read to this day.  While I have shelved Danielle Steele for now, that passion and interest born that summer has continued on for the last 21 years and will continue going forward.

From here on in I will post about my thoughts on books, fanfiction items, and progress I make during this journey toward a career in publishing!! So hang on tightly, it is going to be a head spinning adventure.

One thought on “Inspiration

Leave a Reply

